HOME > RESEARCH

Biodynamic Optical Imaging Center (BIOPIC) is an interdisciplinary research center established by Peking University in 2010. The aim of the center is to develop and apply the most advanced bioimaging and sequencing techniques to address fundamental and compelling biological and medical problems at the molecular and cellular levels. Equipped with state-of-the-art facilities, BIOPIC will focus on the following five areas of technical development:

(1) Single molecule observation and manipulation: from in vitro to in vivo
(2) High-throughput sequencing
(3) Super-resolution cellular imaging
(4) Microfluidic control and analysis of single cells
(5) Label-free biomedical imaging

BIOPIC will take advantage of these technologies to conduct fundamental research in biochemistry, biophysics, molecular biology and cell biology, with the hope of providing an understanding of stem cells, cancers, and infectious and metabolic diseases. BIOPIC wishes to make an impact on life sciences through international collaborations that apply cutting edge technologies to biomedical research with a multidisciplinary approach.

 
Single Molecule Observation and Manipulation

During the past decade, rapid developments in single molecule techniques have allowed scientists to monitor and manipulate the position, orientation and distribution of individual molecules, as well as their dynamical processes, particularly chemical reactions, with nanometer spatial precision and millisecond time resolution. These developments have facilitated the advancement of many fields of biological research, and scientists can now observe and manipulate the behaviors of single biomolecules not only in vitro but also in live cells, gaining molecular level understanding of life processes. BIOPIC aims at further developments and applications of single molecule techniques in order to study the dynamic processes of biological systems, including non-equilibrium dynamics of biomolecules as well as biochemical reactions in live cells, particularly, gene expression and regulation. New insights derived from these studies will advance our understanding of fundamental questions in biology and medicine.




High-throughput DNA sequencing has revolutionized biological and medical research, offering unprecedented opportunities to systematically dissect functional elements in genome sequences and gene regulation networks. BIOPIC will apply state-of-the-art high-throughput techniques to carry out functional genomics analysis of stem cells, human embryonic development and human diseases, especially cancers and infectious diseases. BIOPIC is capitalizing on new sequencing techniques, with a focus on the single cell genomics, transciptomics and epigenomics analysis. These developments will greatly facilitate advances in biological research, medical diagnosis, and personal medicine.

High Throughput Sequencing



Super-Resolution Cellular Imaging

Limited by light diffraction, conventional optical microscopy can only achieve spatial resolution of a few hundred nanometers. Recently, a few emerging super-resolution techniques have broken this barrier and achieved spatial resolution as high as 10 nm, and thus opened a broad range of applications in life sciences. BIOPIC uses these techniques to probe static structures, such as three-dimensional structures of nuclei; as well as dynamic processes in the living cell. The study will lead to unprecedented visualization and deeper understanding of various life processes.




Cells are the basic functional unit of life. Traditional studies of cell biology, which are based on the average results of a large number of cells, mask widespread cellular heterogeneity and therefore offer limited information. Microfluidics is a technology that manipulates liquid with the volume of nanoliter or less. Microfluidic devices suitably match a cell’s dimension and hence provide a powerful tool to deliver and manipulate single cells under controlled microenvironments. At BIOPIC, we interface microfluidic technologies with high-throughput studies of real-time microscopy, as well as single-cell genomics and digital transciptomics.

Microfluidic Control and Analysis of Single Cells



Label-Free Biomedical Imaging

Label-free imaging technology has become an important goal for microscopy. It generates contrast through a molecule’s intrinsic properties, avoiding the disadvantages of fluorescent labels. BIOPIC is developing stimulated Raman scattering (SRS) microscopy for real-time and non-invasive biological imaging, with high specificity, high sensitivity and high spatial resolution. This technique is superior in observing the spatial distributions and real-time dynamics of many molecules, such as lipids, proteins, DNA, RNA, water, metabolites and small drug molecules, in live cells as well as in live animal and human tissues. SRS microscopy provides a unique tool for fundamental research in life sciences and medical diagnostics.

您的位置:首页 > 研究领域

中心概况

生物动态光学成像中心(Biodynamic Optical Imaging Center, BIOPIC)是北京大学于2010年成立的一个跨学科合作实体研究中心。中心的目标是发展和利用最先进的生物成像与基因测序手段,在分子和细胞水平上进行生命科学与医学基础研究。中心将配备世界一流的研究设备和条件,有重点地发展最新的生物成像和测序技术。

未来几年,中心的研究重点将集中于以下几种技术:
(1)从细胞外到活细胞内的单分子观测与操纵;
(2)高通量测序;
(3)超高空间分辨率细胞成像;
(4)单细胞微流控操控与分析;
(5)非标记生物医学显微成像。

中心将利用这些新兴手段从事生物化学、生物物理学、分子生物学和细胞生物学的基础研究,以及致力于解决与干细胞、癌症、感染性疾病及代谢疾病相关的一些重大医学问题。中心希望通过跨学科、新手段的研究及校内外、国内外的合作来促进生命科学的发展。
从细胞外到活细胞内的单分子观测与操纵近年来单分子技术手段的快速发展使我们可以在纳米空间尺度和毫秒或者更快的时间尺度上精确观测和操纵单个生物分子的位置、指向、分布以及化学反应等动态过程,极大地推进了生命科学许多领域的发展。科学家不仅可以在细胞外(体外实验)而且能够在活细胞内实时观测和操纵单分子,由此在分子水平上理解生命现象。中心将致力于继续开创、发展和应用单分子技术,研究生物体系的动态过程,包括生物大分子非平衡态的动力学过程,以及细胞内的生物化学反应,特别是基因的表达调控机理。这些新的信息将加深我们对生物和医学基础问题的理解。



近来高通量测序技术为生物医学研究,特别是功能基因组学研究带来了革命性的变化,为大规模地深入研究、解读基因组序列中的功能元件以及基因调控网络提供了前所未有的机遇。中心利用并发展最新的测序技术对干细胞、人类发育、重大疾病,特别是癌症和感染性疾病进行功能基因组分析。中心研究重点在于单细胞分辨率的基因组、转录组、表观遗传组分析。这些新的手段和实验将对生物基础研究、医学诊断以及个性化医疗带来新的突破。高通量测序



超高空间分辨率细胞成像传统光学显微镜的分辨率由于受到光学衍射极限的制约,只能达到几百纳米。近年来多种技术的发展突破了这一限制,达到十纳米左右的空间分辨率,因而在生命科学研究中打开了广阔的应用前景。中心将利用此类技术研究高分辨率的静态结构,如细胞核内的染色体三维结构;以及活细胞内的动态行为,以在更精确的层次上理解各种生命过程。



细胞是生物体的基本功能单位,传统的细胞生物学研究很多都是基于大量细胞的平均结果,因而掩盖了普遍存在的细胞异质性,影响了对细胞生命过程的精确阐释。微流控技术是针对纳升或者更小尺度液体的操控技术,适合用于高通量和精确的单细胞操作,例如细胞的输运和微环境的精细控制。在微流控芯片上,我们进行细胞的高通量可控条件培养、实时显微成像观察以及单细胞基因组和数字转录组研究。单细胞微流控操控与分析



非标记生物医学显微成像非标记的光学显微成像是近来显微技术的一个重要发展方向。它利用生物样品内物质本身的特征来进行成像,从而避免了传统荧光标记技术经常造成的负面效应。中心致力于发展和利用受激拉曼散射显微技术,利用化学键固有的振动频率实现高特异性、高灵敏度和高分辨率的实时无创生物成像。这一新技术可以实时观察到脂类、蛋白质、DNA、RNA、水、代谢物、小分子药物等多种物质在细胞内、组织内甚至活体内的分布、动态行为和演化过程。这将对细胞生物学和临床医学诊断提供全新的成像工具和检测手段。