Home» News» Notices»

BIOPIC Hosted NTU Delegation

On July 19th, 2011, BIOPIC hosted Delegation of Nanyang Technology University (NTU) of Singapore, which was headed by its President Bertil Andersson.
Prof. Xiaodong Su and Yanyi Huang introduced to the guests about the facilities and projects of BIOPIC and gave them a lab tour. The visitors showed great interests in the research of BIOPIC. “I am most impressed by the state-of-art facilities and the cooperative spirit of your new center.” Andersson said. He also expressed the best wishes for the future success of the center and potential collaboration opportunities between the center and NTU.
Professor Bertil Andersson is a plant biochemist of international reputation and is the author of over 300 papers in photosynthesis research, biological membranes, protein and membrane purification and light stress in plants.
He was educated at Ume? and Lund Universities in Sweden. He started his research career at Ume? after which he became a Professor of Biochemistry. From 1996-2003, he became Dean of the Faculty of Chemical Sciences at the University of Stockholm. In 1999 he was the Rector (President) of Link?ping University, Sweden until the end of 2003. From 2004-2007, he joined the European Science Foundation in Strasbourg as its Chief Executive. Prof Andersson was appointed NTU's first Provost in April 2007 and was installed as NTU’s third President on 1 July 2011.
From 1989 to 1997, he was member of the Nobel Committee for Chemistry (Chair 1997), later becoming a member of the Nobel Foundation (2000-2006) and he is currently a member of the Board of Trustees of the Nobel Foundation.
Bertil Andersson has been a member of the boards of several Swedish and international foundations and learned societies, including a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Australian Academy of Sciences and Academia European and holds honorary doctorates from several universities. He is also a member of the Science and Engineering Research Council (SERC) Board, A*STAR Singapore.
He is also a research adviser to the Swedish government and was, between 2004 and 2007, the Vice President of the European Research Advisory Board (EURAB) of the European Commission.